New Beginnings

I’ve just passed book 2 of the Kingslayer Series over to the proofreader and now just have to wait. I know that there’s a good chance that I’ll tweak it further before putting it on kindle. Book 1 was a rush job.

It was written in 3 days, yes, 3 days. No real proofing before it went straight onto kindle and I am both glad about this but I also regret it. Glad in that had it not gone on then it possibly never would have, and I regret being so quick to publish because when it went on in January it was more of a first draft. I altered it a little in Feb, then had a good friend proofread it, and added 2,000 words to it in May.

It was, as many people will realise and probably recognise themselves, a real learning curve. For this reason, I am being far more careful with book 2. It’s being proofread now, rather than after publication and I will re-read it before it goes onto kindle and amazon. This is one of the great things about ebooks. They can be altered relatively quickly.

They’re more organic in that you have a real relationship with them. I don’t understand how so many people cannot see the benefit of both paper and ebooks. I love the tactile relationship with paper books. The feel and smell of them, holding them, cradling the story in your hands. But I also love the efficiency of the ebook. Instantly, you have it, the words are there and you don’t have to go to a shop or wait for the post for them. I think most people who love reading will see the benefits to both electronic and paperback books.

Good reading!

 http://www.amazon.co.uk/Stone-Sword-ebook/dp/B006ZQIEPG/ref=sr_1_3?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1327179005&sr=1-3

Leave a Reply

